jump to navigation

This Is How We Roll April 10, 2011

Posted by Ben Miljure in General Assignment, Sports.
trackback
Team CHON

Team CHON: (L-R) Dennis (The Menace), Emily (The Slow Roller), Dan (The Man), Caroline (The Ringer), & Benjamin

People came together in bowling alleys all across the country this weekend to raise money for Big Brothers and Big Sisters. The Whitehorse event took place on Sunday at Mad Trapper Alleys in Riverdale (everytime I say Riverdale, I imagine Moose from the Archie comics, “Duhhh…stay outta Riverdale.” Anybody else? Anybody?). I was able to participate as part of the team from my radio station.

There are two components to this event. Obviously, the actual bowling is one. But the most important part was to raise money for the kids. As a newcomer to Whitehorse, my fundraising skills were lacklustre but I tried to make up for it by reaching into my own pocket and giving what I could.

More than 20 corporate teams came out to support the cause here in Whitehorse. It was an impressive showing. We fell short of our goal of raising the most money in the media division. That distinction went to The Whitehorse Daily Star. The award for most money raised overall went to Java Connection. As of Friday when I interviewed their capatain, they had passed the $700 mark. With their bubbly personalities and friendly smiles, I’m not surprised.

Well, we came up short in the fundraising department, but we cleaned up in door prizes. Between the 5 of us we had our numbers called 4 times. I personally won a Corona t-shirt with a Boston Pizza logo on it. It looked suspiciously form fitting so I donated it to Team Java Connection. They’re all female and I was confident one of them would be the right shape for it. Although, they seem to have too much fashion-sense to actually wear a BP server’s t-shirt.

We were able to get in two games in the alloted time. It has been awhile since I tried my hand at 5-pin bowling but I think I acquitted myself fairly well. I had the high score on my team in the first game with 136. In the second game I rolled a 121.

Scoreboard

Yeah! Carter was throwing rocks tonight. Mark it, dude!

But the story of the day had to be Caroline Carter. After warming up with a respectable 121 in the first game. She knocked out a mind-boggling 179 in the second. She was nailing strike after strike. I can’t say this officially, because I can’t verify the other scores, but I would venture to guess she probably had one of the highest scores of the day. Bravo Caro!

Comments»

1. cj - April 10, 2011

thank-you ben. i’m really quite fantastic. bragging about bowling acheivements is my new favorite activity.


Leave a comment